Wednesday, January 10, 2018

ON THORNS I LAY: Greek Death/Doom Veterans To Release Aegean Sorrow This Spring Via Alone Records; New Track Streaming

[This is the official information regarding the new music from On Thorns I Lay from Greece. Listen to a new song below.]
Long-running Greek death/doom troupe ON THORNS I LAY will unleash their eighth studio offering this spring via Alone Records. Titled Aegean Sorrow, the stunning nine-track offering was captured at Devasoundz Studios by Fotis Benardo (Rotting Christ, Septic Flesh etc.) and mixed and mastered at Unisound AB Studio by Dan Swanö (Edge Of Sanity, Bloodbath, Pan.Thy.Monium, Incision etc.).
Easily among the most consuming records of their more than twenty-year career, Aegean Sorrow fuses seemingly clashing concepts of catchy melodies and an incessantly mournful ambiance throughout. "After the recordings of our seventh album Eternal Silence, which took place back in 2004 the band decided to take a long pause because we felt that we were losing our musical identity," issues the band. "In 2015, we felt the need to write music again. We never stopped listening to our favorite albums -- simple atmospheric doom death metal music since our formative years -- so this is how Aegean Sorrow was created. It is a mix taken from our first demos and our first four albums back in the '90s, but with a modern sound. It is exactly what we love to hear, first of all, as fans. No trends, just pure feelings and music. Aegean Sorrow is the music we have dreamed of since we were teenagers. Waves of emotions flow over and over; it is a magical journey into the depth of our soul."
ON THORNS I LAY's Aegean Sorrow will see release on CD and digital formats via Alone Records and on vinyl via The Vinyl Division on March 12th with preorders to be unveiled in the coming weeks.
In the meantime, sample first single and title track "Aegean Sorrow" at below.
Aegean Sorrow Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Aegean Sorrow
3. Erevos
4. In Emerald Eyes
5. Olethros Part I
6. Olethros Part II
7. The Final Truth
8. A Sign Of Sadness
9. Skotos
ON THORNS I LAY began as a death metal band in 1992, under the name of Paralysis. By 1993 they changed their name to Phlebotomy and released the Beyond The Chaos demo and the Dawn Of Grief EP. The following year they changed their name to ON THORNS I LAY and recorded the Voluptuous demo which draw attention of France's Holy Records who went on to release the death/doom sounds of their Sound Of Beautiful Experience debut. The band released five more albums and played countless shows and top festivals with the likes of Dream Theater, In Flames, Anathema, Amorphis, Katatonia, Septic Flesh, and many more before going on a twelve-year hiatus. 2015's Eternal Silence meant the return of the band, back to the roots, playing traditional gothic-inspired doom metal at its best and reaping critical accolades from fans and media across the globe. And now, 2018 ushers in Aegean Sorrow.
On Thorns I Lay - Aegean Sorrow (Official Lyric Video)

No comments:

Post a Comment