Monday, December 7, 2015


OPPROBRIUM (est. 1986) - formerly known as Incubus from New Orleans, Louisiana (from 1986 - 1999) changing the band name to Opprobrium (in 2000 - present).
Opprobrium is a death metal band from Metairie, Louisiana. Founded in 1986 by brothers Francis and Moyses Howard under the name Incubus, Natives of Rio de Janeiro, the Howards emigrated to New Orleans and formed the band. The original incarnation featured bassist/lead vocalist Scot Latour, and the trio's 1987 demo Supernatural Death landed them a deal with the small Brutal Records imprint. Their official debut, Serpent Temptation, was released in 1988; however, LaTour departed soon afterward, leaving Francis to take over vocal duties. Incubus signed with Nuclear Blast Records in 1990 and soon released their follow-up Beyond the Unknown; recording with Francis on bass as well, Incubus eventually tabbed Mark Lavenia as the full-time bassist. But shortly thereafter, in 1991, Incubus disbanded then reappeared after a ten year break from the music business in 2000, they were forced to change their name for copyright reasons and in order to avoid confusion with newly emerging alternative rock band Incubus from California. They released their album Discerning Forces on Nuclear Blast Records in 2000 and in 2008 the band released their fourth studio record Mandatory Evac through Metal Mind Productions. Along with Mandatory Evac, Metal Mind also re-released all of their first albums catalog remastered and in digipak.
The band is noted for their particular style, a death/thrash metal crossover, combined withlyrics about death, violence and occasionally Christian references. Francis Howard and Scot Latour sang background vocals on the song "Stronger Than Hate", the third track on the Sepultura album Beneath the Remains. Francis Howard did guest session vocals on two Cannibal Corpse songs on the album Eaten Back to Life.
1987 Supernatural Death (Demo)
1988 Serpent Temptation (LP, Brutal/MetalWorks UK)
1990 Beyond the Unknown (Nuclear Blast)
1996 Serpent Temptation - remake (Nuclear Blast)
2000 Beyond the Unknown/Serpent Temptation (Digipak, N.B.)
2000 Discerning Forces (Nuclear Blast)
2009 Mandatory Evac (Metal Mind)
2015 Beyond The Unknown: 25 Years Anniversary Reissue 1990 - 2015 (Metal Mind/Nuclear Blast)
2016 Serpent Temptation (1988 original/debut album - Relapse Records, Inc. - Release Date: 01/15/2016)
New studio album coming soon in 2016!!!
FORMER LABELS: Metal Mind Productions / Nuclear Blast Records / MetalWorks Records UK / Brutal Records USA
OPPROBRIUM - "Voices From the Grave" Reissue (Official Track)
OPPROBRIUM - "Voices From the Grave" from the deluxe reissue of their highly influential 1988 death/thrash debut 'Serpent Temptation' coming out January 15, 2016 on CD/LP/Digital via Relapse Records

No comments:

Post a Comment