Monday, May 12, 2014

GRAVES AT SEA & SOURVEIN: Caustic Split Streaming At Metal Hammer; Release To Drop Tuesday Via Seventh Rule

Just days preceding its public availability through Seventh Rule Recordings, Metal Hammer is now exclusively streaming the caustic split EP from GRAVES AT SEA and SOURVEIN. Unifying nearly a half-hour of brand new material from these two top-tier acts in the American circuit makes this joined release one of the premier doom/sludge releases of the year.
Side A of this crusher is ruled by two scathing numbers from Portland, Oregon's GRAVES AT SEA, whose contributions leave an eerie aura complete with tortured vocals, foreboding composition, and a general sense of dread. Recorded by Billy Anderson, (Melvins, Sleep, Neurosis) "Betting On Black" and "Confession" thunder with the all-consuming sludge for which the band is notorious, flooding in amongst the tortured howls and shrieks of vocalist Nathan Misterek. The resin-coated Cape Fear carnage of SOURVEIN, who've now existed for two decades of distortion, damage and total doom, overthrows the B-Side with three songs produced and recorded by Mike Dean of Corrosion Of Conformity. These odes of heavy -- "Driffter," "Equinox" and "Follow The Light" -- combine toxic riffs, grooves and just the right amount of psychedelic appeal. Both sides were mastered by Brad Boatright (Sleep, Beastmilk, Nails) at Audiosiege Engineering and will be released via Seventh Rule on 160-gram vinyl -- with both a standard black pressing as well as a mailorder-only aqua pressing limited to a mere 100 copies, both including a download card -- as well as CD, this Tuesday, May 13th.

No comments:

Post a Comment