Tuesday, September 20, 2016


Inexorable Grimness (EP)
release date: August 3rd, 2016
label: independent
Metal supporters who are searching for some quality metal, possibly new metal, in the realm of raw extreme, and more specifically, traditional and grim symphonic black metal might want to take note of this band. Even though they are completely new to me, and they might be totally new to most readers, there is something about Gravespawn that deserves more than a casual listen. The sharp black thrashing and tremolo guitar works well for making the spirit of the music stand out, which is enhanced with the symphonic elements that fill out the atmosphere. The sense and timing of the melodies give the songs their own aura. The recording information says that this has session drums, but that does not mean that the job sounds halfhearted. In fact, the cymbal work is a highlight; the sound is blasting, fast, chaotic, but with creativity and some slow bits as necessary for the song. The vocals are traditional black metal, with force and rage. The tone of the vocals shows experience and effort in acquiring the right sound for this music; it's not just average growling or shrieking. If you would like to hear this recording, see the link below, where you will find some official information, the list of tracks for this EP and the discography of the band, as found in Metal Archives.
OFFICIAL: Gravespawn was founded in 2004 by Rellik Sephiroth while serving his last year in the US Army in Korea. Two early demos, Thus Reigns the Imperial Order of Tartaros and Forged in the Malice of Stygian Fire, were released between 2004 and 2005. The band was relocated to Los Angeles and other members were recruited. Between 2009 and 2015, Praetorian Maleficus and Woe to the Conquered were released. Since then, Rellik has re-established Gravespawn as his solo work.
1.Old Dragon's Domain 07:55
2.Oath of the Annihilator 05:18
3.Thy Gates Ablaze 06:24
4.Between the Devouring Monstrosities 06:47
5.Scribes of Forsaken Lore 06:31
total time 32:55
Thus Reigns the Imperial Order of Tartaros Demo 2004
Forged in the Malice of Stygian Fire Demo 2005
Praetorian Maleficus Demo 2009
Woe to the Conquered Full-length 2012
Abysmal Storm Split 2015
Infirmos Vocat Deus Fidei Split 2016
Inexorable Grimness EP 2016
by MMB

No comments:

Post a Comment