Monday, February 15, 2016

NEWS: Abyssic

A Winter's Tale
Osmose Productions
Release: 26 February 2016
This b
and seems to have the objective of making a masterpiece of death doom. Just take a look at the songs. It's ambitious, to say the least. The total death doom followers will have plenty with this album. Bring your high expectations ready for this one if you are doom.
1.A Funeral Elegy 12:37
2.A Winter's Tale 28:1
3.Sombre Dreams 15:23
4.The Silent Shrine 22:57
In 1997 Memnock (Susperia a.o) founded Abyssic Dreams and recorded a two song-demo together with drummer Athera (now vocalist in Susperia and Chrome Division). Not much happened after that as they focused on Susperia – a band they started together with Tjodalv (Dimmu Borgir) and guitarist Elvorn. Abyssic Dreams went into hibernation and in 2012 Memnock wanted to give life to his old project again after coincidentally meeting Andre Aaslie who just had finished the debut album of the orchestral extreme metal band Growth. He told Memnock that he worked on a doom metal project and they decided to exchange ideas for a possible cooperation. This was the beginning of a unique collaboration between the two, and within one and a half year they had material enough to start the recording of the album. Memnock’s band mate in Susperia, Elvorn, was engaged as guitarist, and soon after Asgeir Mickelson (Borknagar, Ihsahn, Spiral Architect a.o) came in to handle the drums. The band changed name from Abyssic Dreams to Abyssic and went into the reputable Toproom Studio to record the album during 2014. The mix & mastering found place at the very same place the winter of 2015.
Abyssic is a unique symbiosis of atmospheric approaches in funeral death/doom as well as in the seventies progressive scene. The signature is enhanced by cinematic orchestrations in a seamless mosaic with Mellotron and Minimoog. Abyssic is a result of a unique collaboration between Memnock (Susperia) and André Aaslie (Images At Twilight, Gromth & Profane Burial). The debut fullenght album will be released soon!
Line-up of the band is now:
Elvorn (guitars),
Memnock (vocals, bass & contrabass),
Asgeir Mickelson (drums & guitars),
Andre Aaslie (keys, bass & vocals).

No comments:

Post a Comment